Taking the Bite out of Summer with Avon (Product Review)

We spend a lot of time in the woods (obviously, I mean why else would we call our blog Boyd’s in the Woods?) and because of our love for everything the outdoors Avon has decided to team up with us and send some Skin So Soft Bug Guard to test out. I must say, it was a match made in outdoorsy heaven. We LOVE IT! Nick was a tiny bit leery to use it.. To quote Mr Boyd himself.. “AVON? Isn’t that crap for chics? I think my mom uses that!!”. Well boys.. It’s not just for the ladies.. It’s for your whole dang family!

Since they have such a vast collection I decided it would be best to review this a’la yearbook superlatives style. Let’s get this ball rolling, shall we!

Most likely to Protect you from Deer Ticks when you are Knee-deep in a Pine Tree Forest. Bug Guard Plus IR3535® Expedition ™ SPF 30 ($14-$16) – Combined sun and insect protection in one product and available in an Aerosol spray and Pump spray.  Strong and long-lasting repellency against mosquitoes, deer ticks, sand flies, gnats, no-seeums and biting midges. 

This is the spray we used the most. I like the fact that it offered sunscreen while preventing bugs such as mosquitoes and deer flies from attacking our feet. We also liked that it was “scent-free”.

Willing to Go to the End of The Earth to Make you Happy. Bug Guard Plus Picaridin ($14-$16) – Protection during dusk & dawn, which is when mosquitoes are more active.  Repels deer ticks that may transmit Lyme disease and mosquitoes that may carry West Nile virus.  Available as an Aerosol Spray, Pump Spray and travel-friendly Towelettes.

Some people like options.. A little bit of variety. I get that and that’s why Bug Guard Plus Picaridin is perfect. I loved that I could just toss the towelette packets right into my Ipad carrying case or purse and be on our way to the cabin. Or if I wanted I could pick up either the pump spray or aersol spray. You know how I love my options!

Most Creative Bug Guard Plus IR3535® SPF 30Lotions ($14) – Repel mosquitoes, deer ticks, black flies, sand flies, gnats, no-seeums and biting midges.  Aloe and Vitamin E-enriched formulas are available as a Gentle Breeze Lotion and Cool ‘n Fabulous Disappearing Color Lotion.


Not going to lie. These lotions were my favorite.  They smelled amazing!  Wait did I just say the bug spray smelled amazing?! Oh yeah.. I certainly did.. We happened to watch our little niece this weekend and she thought it was the coolest thing that the Cool ‘n Fabulous bug guard/sunscreen when on blue and then disappeared. She was all about lotioning us up!

Most Likely to have your Back if you Forgot.. Anti-Itch Spray– Provides temporary, soothing relief to itchy insect bites. ($10) (Does not repel insects & use as directed)

With all the bug spray floating around the cabin, we didn’t worry to much about forgetting to spray up, but Nick’s dad did.. (tsk tsk..) and of course the deer flies attacked his ankles! Luckily, I had brought the Anti-Itch Spray just in case… He said it was such a relief! Usually after a bite he is itching like crazy and usually ends up bleeding from it, but not with the Anti-Itch Spray.

Overall, we were extremely happy with the Skin So Soft Big Guard Collection and it will be with us on the front line battling all the creepy-crawlys. If you feel like you need assistance battling the bugs defiently check out Avon’s line of Skin So Soft. Beyond just fighting off the bugs outdoors, Avon’s Skin So Soft Bug collection also helps you swat them away virtually with the first-ever Bug Guard game found on their Facebook page! I’ve been playing nonstop since I found out about it! Also everyone who plays will receive a free shipping code that can be redeemed at Avon.com!

Disclosure: Avon provided free samples of their products to review.  I was not financially compensated for this post. I received a sample for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience 

This entry was posted in Product Review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let's hear what you have to say:

